NEWBOURNE HALL, SUFFOLK
The earliest part of Newbourne Hall, once owned by Cardinal Wolsey and associated with Queen Katherine Parr, dates back to 14th century but the building today is in appearance a Tudor and Early Stuart manor house.
To that first 'hall -house' was added c.1500 a half-timbered wing with fine carved beams and doorways. Then in the early years of the 17th century a much larger and grand north facing brick extension, with crow step gables was built by Edmund Purpett. Into his newly re-modelled house he put outstanding armorial and decorative plaster ceilings, mullion windows, stone fireplaces and oak panelling.
Thereafter little building or alteration took place and the house was never Georgian or Victorianised. In the Shell Guide to the county it is described as 'wonderfully unspoilt'.
Since 1945 the Somerville family has lived in it, the longest owner-occupiers in its history. As the home of the artists Peggy and Stuart Somerville, there is on site a fully equipped artist's studio. In the old walled-garden there is a charming 'ermitage' of c.1850 and other features include a four-poster bedroom, period furnishings throughout, a marble bathroom, croquet lawn, paddocks, outbuildings and hardstanding adjoining the house. There is as well on the property, a small lake with islands, a stream and wild areas.
Suffolk IP12 4NP
Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1473 736764
Mobile: 07850 301 981
London: +44 (0) 20 7582 1478